Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi Friends

The last few months have been tough. My 92 year old grandmother suffered from a stroke in late august, and our lives have been very different since. Between the 5-8 people coming in and out, we each take turns staying the night or afternoon. This can take a toll on anyone, especially with the general concern of making sure my grandma is as happy and comfortable as possible. Of course, no one complains because my grandma has raised 6 amazing children, and been there for all of our big moments and we are going to be there for hers.

IMG_3224

My Grandma and I from 1999

I think the hardest part has been seeing a strong and independent woman, no longer being able to do all of the things she wishes she could do. Even the simple task of going to the bathroom requires assistance, no longer being a simple task. But, there is always a silver lining. My grandma is one of my best friends, and getting to spend four days a week with her has been an absolute blessing.

Not only have I had the pleasure of spending time with my grandma, but also the rest of my family. I get to see my aunts and uncles at least twice a week, usually over dinner or an episode of The Profit. I have come to look forward to this part of my day, coming home and seeing family surrounding not only me but the woman who started it all. I have realized there is nothing better than spending time with the people you love. This may seem obvious, but sometimes it takes an event like a stroke, to bring people together. The last few months have truly opened my eyes to the amazing people I have had around me all my life, but never acknowledged.

My Aunty Liz lives in Oklahoma and she came to visit us this past week with her daughter Riley. I always treasure the time we have together, and one of the ways we share our love is through baking. Scones, more specifically. I wanted to share with you a very special recipe to our family, because these have been our silver lining scones.

The best part of this recipe is you can make it however you want, with whatever you want. The classic and grandmas favorite is candied ginger. But my Aunt has made chocolate chip, white chocolate raspberry, chocolate banana, and we even filled some with apple pie filling!

IMG_3399

apple pie filled scone, rolled in cinnamon sugar

IMG_3495

chocolate chip and banana scone

IMG_3382

Chocolate chip

Ingredients :

  • 2 1/4 cups unbleached pastry flour or unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar (extra for the tops of the scones)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 sticks ¬†unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream, plus extra for brushing the tops of the scones

Directions:

1. Adjust the oven rack to the middle position and preheat the oven to 400&Deg; F.

2. In a food processor, combine the flour, sugar, and baking powder. Plus enough to mix the components. Add butter, and pulse on and off, or mix on low, until the mixture is pale yellow and the consistency of fine meal.

3.Transfer the mixture to a large bowl and add whatever you would like ex chocolate chips, or dried cranberries. Then pour the heavy cream and mix gently with your hands until combined. Do not over mix!

4. Form the scone mix into balls (depending on whether you want larger, or smaller scones)

5. Brush the tops with the remaining cream and sprinkle sugar!

6.Bake for 12 to 16 minutes, until they are turning brown on top

and you are done!

