Tags

, , , , , , ,

Let’s talk feminism.

This is a subject that is very relevant right now. I know some of you readers have probably exhausted your minds on the subject. But in light of Emma Watson’s beautifully crafted speech to the UN, I feel like I need to offer my input. Pardon me for the shorter post, but I was quite literally left speechless after watching Watson’s speech.

Please please watch Watson’s speech before you read any further, if you have not already seen it:

So let’s get into it.

One thing that Watson says that really stuck with me was the fact that the word “feminism” gets a bad wrap. This is too true. Feminism has this image, and who knows where it came from, of being about women obnoxiously sticking up to man and being anti-men (as Watson puts it). I myself dislike the word feminism. Because it’s about everyone. That can be hard to understand with a term like feminism. What this whole movement is all about, what all this noise is all about, is gender equality. It’s about sharing the same rights, whether it be getting paid the same amount for equal work or being able to do whatever you want without being criticized by society for being less of a man or less of a woman.

Watson stretched her speech beyond the scope of gender equality. She inspired. She inspired us to appreciate the freedoms we are afforded and the privileges we are granted. Moreover, she inspired us to reach for more freedoms and privileges, not just for us, but for others. She instilled in our minds, “If not me, who? If not now, when?”

What made this speech so important to me and many others was the fact that it applied to every single one of us. Not one person can watch that video and say “that has nothing to do with me.” I would be quite surprised to hear someone say they did not feel motivated to do something after watching it. Just the fact that she stood up in front of hundreds of men and women from different countries and belief systems is truly inspiring.

So if we take anything away from this video, it’s that we all deserve the same things, and we all should do something to make that happen. Think of how awesome Emma Watson, our real life Hermione, is when she says, “If not me, who? If not now, when?”

-Zoe

If you would like to learn more about the HeforShe movement, go to http://www.heforshe.org/

 

